RSS Feed

Determination

First off, this is a project I’ve been meaning to start since January. A new blog, to chronicle our days and learning experiences along the way – many of them focused on what we are learning from our horse, or the things we get to teach her. Her name is Risky, and she’s an 11 year old bay mare – she’s a real gem!

One of the things I realized the other day, in the pouring down rain, is how much I learned from having horses. I grew up with a younger sister, and a variety of pets. Always having someone to look out for and take care of taught me a lot. (And I also look back and shake my head at the times I didn’t take care of things the right way, especially with my sister.)

One lesson that sticks with me, whether I have pets or not, before I became a mother, and since I’ve started the journey of motherhood, before I had stepsons, and even now with two stepsons that I adore, is determination. See, it takes a special something, deep inside someone, to get through the grimy days, the rainy days, the messy days. As I trudged through the mud, and the rain drenched me from the top of my head down, and drops ran off the end of my nose, I found some small joy in it. I thanked God for carrying me through the times I can’t walk, and for being there for the times I can – whether or not I see or notice, or want Him there.

And I’m thankful that I learned, from a young age, to do what it takes to get the job done. It may not be easy, and it may not always be fun, but it is worth it.

I also realized some areas (like housework) that I need to show some determination. I’m not very good, at the end of the day, to come home and clean the house or mop the floors or fold the clothes. The house suffers, and as a result, I feel bad that things are so messy.

Just as importantly, I realized how important it is to share those jobs with the kids. They can all learn something from helping, having a job to do, and accomplishing something. And hopefully, these rainy feeding days will teach them to trudge through the mud, to do what needs to be done, so that when the sun is shining, we can play!

 

ImageImage

(Risky, all wet, and a view of the big mess she’s making with her hay!)

About Regina Walker

I am a Jesus-girl, wife, mom, writer, sister, daughter, baker, cook, maid, teacher, business partner and more. I am busy raising kids, and praying daily for them to be servants of Christ. I am the blessed wife of a very hard working man, together we own and operate our own business. We are also a homeschooling family. We do our best to enjoy life, help others and use the talents God gave us, for His glory, while helping our kids learn to live into theirs. I welcome all emails - you can reach me at perceptionsby1@gmail.com - feel free to email me anytime, just be patient in waiting for my response!

Add Your Thoughts

